
 
Healthcare Consent Guidelines for Youth in DCS State Custody 

 

You are seeing a youth in the legal custody of the Tennessee Department of Children’s Services.  Unless 
the parents’ rights have been terminated, DCS is merely the legal custodian – not the youth’s legal 
parent or guardian.  The parent(s) or guardian(s) have the legal authority to determine healthcare when 
their youth is in DCS custody.  DCS policy is to involve the youth’s parent or legal guardian in healthcare 
decision-making for the youth when possible and in the best interest of the youth.  The DCS 
representative who is present at this appointment will be able to inform you of the guardianship status of 
the youth and persons responsible for making healthcare decisions.   
 

EMERGENCY HEALTHCARE (medical and behavioral) - The parent/legal guardian, DCS case manager, contract agency 

caseworker, or foster parent determine consent at the time care is needed.  A licensed physician may perform emergency medical 
or surgical treatment on a youth without consent if the physician has a good faith belief that delay of care would result in serious 
threat to life or serious worsening of the youth’s medical condition. 
 

ROUTINE HEALTHCARE (medical and behavioral) - The parent/legal guardian, DCS staff or foster parent present 

determine consent (as representative of the legal custodian) for ordinary and routine care.  Extraordinary or non-routine treatment 
will require the parent/legal guardian to determine care.  If the parent/legal guardian is unavailable, DCS staff will consult their legal 
counsel for assistance in determining appropriate steps for consent.  This may involve a hearing in juvenile court for the judge to 
order the extraordinary or non-routine medical care.   
  
Note - If the youth is 14 years of age or older, Tennessee law presumes that they have the maturity to decide medical care, 
but this is determined on an individual case basis by the provider. 
                

SURGERY - The parent/legal guardian determines consent.  If the legal guardian cannot or will not be available or if termination 

of parental rights has occurred, then the DCS Regional Nurse has the responsibility of determining consent for ordinary and routine 
surgery.  Extraordinary surgical procedures will require an order of the juvenile court (if the parent/legal guardian is unavailable or 
parental rights have been or are being terminated).  
 

PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATION - The parent/legal guardian determines consent if the youth is less than 16 years of age.  

The parent/legal guardian or legal custodian for a youth 15 years of age and under can consent to disclosure of the youth’s 
confidential information.  DCS has asked that the parent be present for this appointment or available by telephone to decide the 
care of the youth.  If the parent cannot or will not be available to determine consent or if termination or parental rights has 
occurred or is in process, then the DCS Regional Nurse has the responsibility of determining consent.  He or she is available by 
telephone (the number can be provided to you by the DCS representative present).  The appropriate informed consent form may be 
faxed to him/her (again the number will be provided) for signature prior to initiation of medication usage.  The DCS Regional 
Nurse, as the representative of the legal custodian and acting in place of the parent, may contact you with questions 
concerning diagnosis, nature and purpose of proposed treatment, risks and benefits of proposed treatment, alternative treatments, 
risks and benefits of alternative treatment, and risks and benefits of receiving no treatment.     
 
Note - If the youth is 16 years of age or older, he or she has the same rights as adults with respect to outpatient and inpatient 
mental health treatment medication decisions, and confidential information (TCA 33-8-202). The youth has the right to determine 
parent involvement, including any use of medication.   An outpatient facility or professional may provide treatment and 
rehabilitation without obtaining the consent of the parent, legal guardian, or legal custodian.  We ask that appropriate DCS 
documents indicating the youth’s consent to treatment be forwarded to the DCS Regional Nurse or Youth Development Center 
Nurse for tracking purposes. 
 

EXCEPTIONS to parent/legal guardian/legal custodian determination of medical care 

               -Youth 16 years of age or older for mental health treatment 
 -“Mature” 14 year old youth, determined on individual case basis by provider 
 -Treatment of juvenile drug abuse, a physician may use his/her own discretion in notification of the youth’s parents 
 -Prenatal care of a minor, a physician may use his/her discretion in notification of the youth’s parents 
 -Contraceptive supplies and information 
 -Treatment of sexually transmitted diseases  
 -Emergency medical or surgical treatment 
 

TREATMENT REFUSAL by parent/legal guardian or youth (14 years of age or older) 

You, as the health care provider, in consultation with DCS will determine: 
                -if the treatment or procedure is medically necessary, 
               -if the youth may be harmed if he/she does not receive the treatment or procedure, and  
                -if DCS determines that the treatment is necessary to protect the youth from harm, 
               THEN DCS will contact the local DCS attorney regarding the need for judicial intervention.  
 

We hope these guidelines are informative and helpful in your care of this youth 
and we thank you for the clinical services you are providing. 


