
 

 
 

 

 

 
State of Tennessee 
Department of Children’s Services 

 

Protocol for Reporting Runaways, Absconders and Escapees 

Supplemental to Policy 31.2, Responsibilities Regarding Runaways, Absconders and 
Escapees 

 

 

This protocol outlines procedures to follow when a youth runs away, absconds or escapes from their 
placement. These child(ren)/youth expose themselves to significant risks; therefore, preventing runaway 
behavior is critical to ensuring the safety of children and youth in care. 

 
Upon notification that a child/youth has runaway, absconded or escaped from custody, the following steps 
occur: 

 

Immediate Steps: 
 

1. Upon determining a child/youth has run away from a placement, absconded or escaped, the FSW, 
foster parent or contract agency staff immediately contacts local Law Enforcement (LE) and have 
the child/youth entered as a “Missing Person”. Law Enforcement is responsible for entering the 
child/youth into the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) and the Missing Children of 
Tennessee (MCOT) databases. The reporter must obtain the NCIC number and provide it to the 
FSW within one business day. If LE cannot immediately provide the number, the FSW must be 
diligent to obtain it as soon as possible and have them entered into NCIC via the L.E. The FSW 
then requests a copy of the NCIC report and NCIC number, which is placed into the child/youth’s 
case file. 

 

Note: Local LE may refuse to enter a child into the National Crime Information Center (NCIC). When 
unable to resolve the problem with local LE, report the refusal to the TBI Missing Children 
Clearing House at 1-800-TBI-FIND (800-824-3463) (Statewide). 

 
2. Immediately file a report to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) by 

going to the website: http://www.missingkids.com/home or calling: 1-800-843-5678. 

 

3. If someone other than the FSW was the first to learn of the child/youth’s absconding, the FSW 
ensures that LE was contacted as outlined above and if it has not been done contact LE 
immediately. 

4. The FSW notifies the parents or legal guardian(s) by telephone that the child/youth has run away. 
 

5. Completes a Serious Incident Report in the Incident Reporting Module of TFACTS. If the internet is 
not accessible, complete form CS-0496, Serious Incident Report and send to all appropriate staff 
to be notified (see DCS Policy, 1.4, Incident Reporting for additional information). 

 

6. The FSW calls the Regional Absconder Recovery Program Representative (RARPR), Team Leader 
(TL) or Team Coordinator (TC) and provides a preliminary report regarding the child/youth. If unable 
to contact any of these persons, the FSW contacts the Deputy Regional Administrator. 
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7. The FSW completes Section A of form CS-0705, Absconder-Runaway-Escapee-Recovery 
Checklist on the day a custodial child/youth runs away, absconds or escapes from their placement. 
E-mail the form to the recipients designated on the form. 

 
8. Within 24 hours of the absconding, the FSW files a petition and requests an attachment with the 

committing court. 

9. Within one (1) business day of availability from the court, the FSW requests a copy of the petition 

to be faxed to the FSW. If this court refuses filing of the petition, the FSW contacts the Regional 
General Counsel for assistance. 

10. Within 3 business days of the absconding, the FSW ensures that  all supporting documentation 
for the Absconder, Runaway, Escapee Recovery Checklist (CS-0705) is obtained/completed as 
listed below: 

 Penalty Letter for Harboring, 

 most current photo, 

 Escapee or AWOL Petition, 

 copy of attachment 
 

All of the above is sent to local LE, the Absconder Unit, and is placed in the child/youth’s case 
record as well as being documented in TFACTS. 

 
 

Immediate Steps for Non-Custodial (Juvenile Justice) cases: 

 

1. Upon notification that a child/youth has absconded, staff determine if the child/youth has in fact 
absconded or if other circumstances are involved. (i.e. at a friend or relative’s home, etc). The 
FSW also determines if a violation has occurred and assess if it is a major or minor violation. 

2. If the child/youth is not a true absconder, but is at a place and refusing to return home, the FSW 
schedules a CFTM to discuss issues, resolutions, and treatment plans to address the issue. If the 
child/youth returns home within seventy-two (72) hours, a minor violation will be documented per 
Policy 13.6, Minor and Major Violations-Delinquent Youth on Probation and After Care . 

3. If the child/youth has absconded for more than seventy-two (72) hours, a major violation has 
occurred. The FSW completes a Violation Report, CS-0156 and submits the report to the Team 
Leader for discussion and approval. 

4. Upon approval by a Team Leader, a petition may be filed. If a petition is filed a copy of the violation 
report must accompany the petition. 

5. All steps above are entered into TFACTS. 

https://files.dcs.tn.gov/forms/0705.doc
https://files.dcs.tn.gov/forms/0705.doc
https://files.dcs.tn.gov/forms/0705.doc
http://www.tn.gov/youth/providers/forms/0705.doc
http://www.state.tn.us/youth/dcsguide/policies/chap13/13.6.pdf
http://www.intranet.tn.gov/chldserv/Forms/Forms/0156.doc
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Investigation and Case Management: 
 

1. Upon notification that a child or youth has run away, the FSW conducts a thorough investigation of the 
child’s/youth’s last known whereabouts. This investigation must include, but is not limited to, contacting: 

a) Contract agency staff, parents, foster parents, or other caregivers; 

b) Child/youth’s friends, school personnel, police, hospitals, clinics, post offices, Utilities Companies, 
Telephone Companies, Department of Human Services Child Support Offices; and, 

c) Other individuals/agencies with which the child/youth/caregiver/family may have had contact. 
 

2. Within the first business day of absconding, the FSW visits the child/youth’s parents/guardian and 
tactfully discusses apprehending the child/youth for their own safety while also tactfully discussing the 
laws and punishment for harboring an AWOL youth. The FSW also obtains signatures on the Penalty 
Letter for Harboring, (CS-0749). File a copy in the child/youth’s case file within three (3) business 
days. If the child/youth is located at the parents’ or guardians’ home and does not willingly return to 
custody, immediately notify Law Enforcement. 

 

3. The FSW makes (1) unannounced home visit weekly for the first 30 days. After the first thirty (30) 
days, the FSW makes (1) unannounced home visit monthly. 

 

4. Contact the child/youth’s parents at least two (2) times per month via telephone call monthly. If 

parents do not live together, each parent is contacted. 
 

5. Conduct a full diligent search within ten (10) days of notice of family moving without notice to DCS. 
 

6. The FSW follows up with staff/foster parents where the child/youth was placed to ensure the child/youth 
has been reported to Law Enforcement. The FSW has the ultimate responsibility for ensuring all 
notification and documentation is completed as described above. 

 

7. Foster Parent Support staff works closely with foster parents who have had a history of repeat 
runaways from their homes to understand precipitating factors and to develop preventive plans to 
discourage children or youth from running away. 

 

8. Whenever the FSW, TL, or TC receives a tip on the whereabouts of a child/youth that has run away, 
she or he coordinates with Law Enforcement for assistance in locating and returning the child/youth to 
custody. DCS staff who attempt to locate and return runaway child(ren)/youth should never place 
themselves at risk of harm and take safety precautions at all times. 

 

9. The TL or TC meets with the FSW every (2) weeks to discuss strategies likely to result in 
apprehension of the absconding youth. These conferences are noted in TFACTS by the TL or TC 
within five (5) business days. 

https://files.dcs.tn.gov/forms/0749.doc
https://files.dcs.tn.gov/forms/0749.doc
https://files.dcs.tn.gov/forms/0749.doc
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Apprehension: 

Once a child or youth has been located and returned to custody, the FSW: 
 

1. Completes Part B of form CS-0705, Absconder Runaway Escapee Recovery Checklist ) within 
one (1) business day of recovery of the child/youth and sends an e-mail/fax to LE that entered the 
youth into NCIC and to the Regional Absconder Recovery Program Representative (RARPR). 

 

2. Notifies the parents/legal guardians that the child(ren)/youth has been located. 
 

3. Convenes a CFTM prior to placement, whenever possible, to determine how to best meet the 
child/youth’s needs and to discourage future runaway episodes. If a CFTM cannot occur prior to 
placement, the FSW discusses with placement the need for an immediate safety plan and enters 
the reason(s) why it could not occur prior to placement in TFACTS case recordings. 

 

4. Notifies all courts where a runaway petition/attachment was filed the next business day. 
 

5. Within three (3) business days of apprehension, discharge or placement changes, TFACTS must 
be updated. 

 
 
 

Procedures for Return of Runaways, Absconders, and Escapees from Another State: 
 

Please refer to the ICJ Practices and Procedures Manual, Section: Procedures for Return of Runaways, 
Absconders and Escapees for more information regarding procedures for the return of Runaways, 
Absconders, and Escapees. 

 
 

Prevention: 

1. The FSW maintains an open line of communication. 

2. The FSW discusses with foster parents, contract agencies, etc. the runaway clues, child/youth’s 
triggers, etc. 

3. The FSW conducts quarterly CFTM’s to address barriers and help move the case forward. 

4. The FSW encourage all parties, including the child/youth, to express concerns. 

5. If absconding becomes a concern, the CFT should meet immediately and develop a safety plan. 

http://www.tn.gov/youth/providers/forms/0705.doc

